Videos of Works

Video by Hans Hijmering

BLACK FEATHER RISING – aria “Deep in your heart…”

Soprano: Charlotte Riedijk
Baritone: Alistair Shelton-Smith

Video by Hans Hijmering


Soprano: Charlotte Riedijk
Baritone: Alistair Shelton-Smith


World Premiere: Beethoven Haus, Bonn on 14 September 2014


I Want You (from ABLAZE!)

Christiane Iven - Soprano
Burkhard Kehring - Piano

RAGA FIELDS in Vienna – finale

Klangforum Wien conducted by Enno Poppe, 23 May 2015, Wiener Konzerthaus (Vienna).
Sarod soloist: Soumik Datta

…beyond the reach of the world… (extract)

Informal extract on the iPhone

Jessica Kuhn: cello
Rie Watanabe: percussion
21 April 2016
ORF Broadcasting Station, Dornbirn, Austria


Settings of poems by Rabindranath Tagore (trans. William Radice) - Extract

Suzanne Fischer - Soprano
Jessica Kuhn - Cello

BLACK FEATHER RISING – Recitative and Aria

Alistair Shelton-Smith - Baritone
Video by Hans Hijmering

DRUM OF THE DEATHLESS – Ritual for Four Percussionists

World Premiere performed at the Asian Cultural Centre in Gwangju, S. Korea on 24 November 2016.

Interviews & Features

Video by Dreamsong

Samuel Milea reads from the diary of Kim Malthe-Bruun

The text that inspired "...beyond the reach of the world..."

Uncharted – Joby Burgess & Matthew Sharp

Uncharted - the duo of Joby Burgess (percussion & electronics) & Matthew Sharp (cello & voice) performing music by Param Vir and others live at Kings Place in November 2011

Video by Param Vir

Memories of Arnold Schoenberg

Composer Richard Hoffmann in conversation with Param Vir, 12 February 2012.

Karl Riley

Interview with Charlotte Riedijk

Soprano Charlotte Riedijk talks to Karl Riley about her preparations for Black Feather Rising.

Karl Riley

Interview with Alistair Shelton Smith and Param Vir

Karl Riley interviews Alistair Shelton-Smith and Param Vir.



Ion – Opera in Two Acts

2003 Production by Opéra National du Rhin / Music Theatre Wales.

Broken Strings – Opera in One Act

The Netherlands Opera 1992, directed by Pierre Audi.

Photographs by Nag Odekar

Anish Kapoor’s ‘Cloud Gate’

See the orchestral work 'Between Earth and Sky'.

Photographs by Anna van Kooij

Black Feather Rising

Production by Stichting Octopus. October 2008 Haarlem.

Sketches & Templates

Orchestral Templates

These are energy templates for the orchestral piece "Between Earth and Sky".